Awards & Grants

The Cranmer Awards

This short video gives a glimpse of the Cranmer Awards Finals, and explains what the Awards are all about:


This video is from the 30th anniversary Cranmer Awards Finals in 2019, where HRH The Prince of Wales, Patron of the Prayer Book Society, presented the prizes:

What are the Cranmer Awards?

The Cranmer Awards are an annual competition run by the Prayer Book Society to introduce young people to the 1662 Book of Common Prayer - the bedrock of the Anglican Church and among the finest writing to be found anywhere.

Entrants from across the country read or recite a passage of their choice, 3-5 minutes in duration, from the Book of Common Prayer. Local heats are held around the country, and the winners of the heats go through to the National Final where competitors must recite their chosen passage by heart. Entrants are encouraged to ask a teacher or a priest for guidance on how to prepare for the Cranmer Awards.

There are two age groups: Juniors (11-14 years) and Seniors (15-18 years). To enter the Junior class you should be at least 11 but not yet 15 on 1st February next; senior class 15 but not yet 19 on 1st February next.

Ideally suited to students of English, drama or RE, the Cranmer Awards allow young people to experience the sheer magic of Cranmer's language.

Teachers find the Awards a useful adjunct to studies, and students can relate to the Awards in their coursework and examinations. Each school/college/church may enter several young people in each category (Senior and Junior).

Click here to view the rules and advice for competitors.


Journalist, theatre critic and author Quentin Letts with the prize winners, as seen in the video

How to enter

For information about your local heat of the Cranmer Awards, please contact the National Administrator:

Mrs Jo Clark
You can email Jo at


Judging at York Finals 2013
The Archbishop of York presenting the prizes at the Cranmer Awards Finals